Asked by Luana Grabias on Feb 18, 2024



In the DSM-5, all the pervasive developmental disorders have been subsumed under the new category of

A) disintegrative disorder.
B) autism spectrum disorder.
C) neurological dysfunction disorders.
D) pervasive neurological disorders.

Pervasive Developmental Disorders

Disorders characterized by severe and persisting impairment in several areas of development.

  • Understanding the changes made in the DSM-5 regarding the categorization of pervasive developmental disorders.
  • Familiarity with the new category introduced in the DSM-5 for pervasive developmental disorders.
  • Knowledge of the specific term used to encompass all pervasive developmental disorders in the DSM-5.

Verified Answer

Chuck Letoile

Feb 18, 2024

Final Answer :
Explanation :
The DSM-5 no longer includes separate diagnoses for autism, Asperger's syndrome, and pervasive developmental disorder-not otherwise specified (PDD-NOS). Instead, these disorders are now all encompassed within the broader category of autism spectrum disorder (ASD).