Asked by Talia Rivera on Feb 29, 2024



In addition to the DSM diagnostic codes,each disorder also has a corresponding:

A) Severity rating
B) Insurance number
C) ICD code
D) APA code

ICD Code

International Classification of Diseases code, a system used to classify and code diagnoses, symptoms, and procedures.

DSM Diagnostic Codes

Numerical codes assigned to each diagnostic category in the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders used for billing and classification purposes.

Severity Rating

A measure used to assess the intensity or seriousness of a condition, symptom, or problem, often used in clinical settings.

  • Master the concept and application of the DSM in the framework of clinical diagnosis and evaluation.

Verified Answer

Jessica Evans

Feb 29, 2024

Final Answer :
Explanation :
The International Classification of Diseases (ICD) is a system used by the World Health Organization (WHO) to classify and diagnose diseases worldwide. The ICD code is a unique code assigned to each disorder in order to standardize diagnoses across the globe. The DSM diagnostic codes are usually cross-referenced with the corresponding ICD codes for billing and insurance purposes. Severity ratings and APA codes may also be used in clinical settings, but they are not universally recognized or required for diagnosis and billing purposes.