Asked by Cerra Clark on Mar 10, 2024



In 1921, Congress imposed country-by-country immigration quotas. Which of the following regions was not subject to them?

A) Eastern Europe
B) central Asia
C) the Western Hemisphere
D) southern Africa
E) the Northern Hemisphere

Immigration Quotas

Limits set by a country on the number and/or type of immigrants allowed to enter annually, often based on nationality, to control immigration levels.

  • Describe the exclusions and limitations of immigration quotas established by Congress and their regional impact.

Verified Answer

Braeden Pauwels

Mar 10, 2024

Final Answer :
Explanation :
The Western Hemisphere was not subject to the country-by-country immigration quotas imposed by Congress in 1921. These quotas primarily targeted countries from Europe and Asia, aiming to restrict immigration from those regions, while countries in the Western Hemisphere, such as those in North, Central, and South America, were exempt.